Dr Simon Newell Early Career Investigator of the Year (Sparks) Award


Previously this was known as the Young Investigator of the Year Award. This year the award has been re-named in memory of Dr Simon Newell - a renowned and widely respected neonatologist and paediatrician who had a passion to encourage the next generation of paediatric clinicians and researchers. The award comprises:

  • a trophy
  • £1000 for the winner
  • £1000 to the winner's department to buy equipment and cover other expenses such as consumables connected with their research.

The RCPCH presents the winner at the RCPCH Conference in March 2018. The winner will be notified ahead of the conference and the RCPCH will cover the winner's travel and conference costs. 

Nomination process

The nomination process is managed by the RCPCH. All nominations must be submitted to research@rcpch.ac.uk

We welcome applications from early career researchers who have not yet completed or who may have recently completed their certificates of completion of training (CCT). Nominees may nominate themselves with the support of a sponsor.

Any nomination should include the following:

  • a completed nomination form
  • a copy of the nominee's concise CV
  • details of their research work (800 words max)
  • a brief statement (500 words max.) highlighting why the nominee should be selected for this award

The RCPCH Academic Board’s Adjudicating Panel reviews all nominations.


See instructions on how to apply

Complete the application form 

Please send all applications to research@rcpch.ac.uk

Deadline: 24th November